Coronavirus (COVID-19) Update: Kaplan’s top priorities are the health and safety of employees, students, customers, and the community. If you have individual concerns, please visit our FAQ page ».

Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education

Florida State Real Estate Licensing and CE Requirements

Florida Real Estate Commission

Department of Business and Professional Regulation
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1027
Phone: 850-487-1395
Website: http://www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/real-estate-commission/#1490965259918-a9262bde-d4449f01-370b

Florida Real Estate Associate Education Requirements

  1. Be at least 18 years old
  2. Provide proof of a high school diploma
  3. Complete 63 hours of education
  4. Submit background check and fingerprints to state
  5. Take and pass the state and national exam

Florida Real Estate Broker Education Requirements

  1. Be at least 18 years old
  2. Provide proof of a high school diploma
  3. Must have been licensed for 24 months as an active real estate associate for five years before becoming a licensed broker
  4. Complete 72 hours of education
  5. Tax and pass the Florida Real Estate Broker Examination

Sales Associate Post Licensing Requirements (First Renewal)

  1. Renewal periods are every two years—either March 31 or September 30
  2. Sales associates must complete 45 hours of education to renew their license

Broker Post-Licensing Requirements (First Renewal)

  1. Renewal periods are every two years—either March 31 or September 30
  2. Brokers must complete 60 hours of education to renew their license

Sales Associate Continuing Education Requirements

  1. Renewal periods are every two years—either March 31 or September 30
  2. Once successfully completed post-licensing education, a sales associate must complete 14 hours of continuing education to be taken as such:
    1. Three hours—Florida Core Law (required)
    2. Three hours—Real Estate and Business Ethics (required)
    3. Eight hours—Specialty credit

Broker Continuing Education Requirements

  1. Renewal periods are every two years—either March 31 or September 30
  2. Once successfully completed post-licensing education, a broker must complete 14 hours of continuing education to be taken as such:
    1. Three hours—Florida Core Law (required)
    2. Three hours—Real Estate and Business Ethics (required)
    3. Eight hours—Specialty credit

Exam Provider Information

  1. Scheduling for the exam can be done at the testing providers’ website
  2. Review all downloads available on the website to be fully prepared for exam day

EFFECTIVE 5/1/2020:  CE completion extended the licensee’s renewal/CE deadline to 6/1/2020 which includes the 28 hour Reactivation Course.