If you're considering starting a real estate career in Milwaukee, Madison, Green Bay, Kenosha, Door County, or any other part of the state, you'll need to earn a Wisconsin real estate license. So, let’s start with the basics. To earn a real estate license in Wisconsin, you must be at least 18 years of age, have a high school diploma, complete 72 classroom hours of Board-approved education, pass a 140-question state/national real estate exam, and apply for your license.
While the general process for becoming a real estate agent is is similar in every state, each state’s process is a little unique. Wisconsin, for instance, allows you to apply for predetermination before you invest in the education and exam.
Here are the specific steps to earning a license and becoming a real estate agent in Wisconsin:
Step 1: Be at least 18 years of age and have a high school diploma.
In addition to the age requirement, you must also have earned a high school diploma or GED. You can learn more about the specific requirements on the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS) website.
Step 2: Apply for predetermination (optional).
If you do not already possess a real estate broker, salesperson, or timeshare salesperson license, you can apply (via form #3085) to the DSPS board to determine if past criminal convictions will prevent you from earning your license.
Step 3: Complete the required education.
There are a few ways to complete Wisconsin’s education requirement:
You can complete 72 hours of Wisconsin-approved education from a state-approved prelicensing education provider. This is the most common way the education requirement is met. Most approved providers also offer optional exam prep courses and tools to help you prepare for success on exam day.
Another option is to complete 10 academic semester credit hours in real estate or real estate-related law from an institution of higher learning.
Finally, if you have held a salesperson license in another state within the past two years, you need to complete the Board-approved 13-hour prelicense education program for salespersons.
Step 4: Pass the Wisconsin salesperson licensing exam.
The Wisconsin salesperson licensing exam is administered by Pearson Vue. Plan to arrive at the test center 30 minutes before your scheduled appointment time and be prepared to show two (2) forms of personal ID. Both must have your signature, and at least one must have your photo. If you arrive more than 15 minutes late and are refused admission, you will still be responsible for exam payments and delivery fees.
Step 5: Apply for your license.
You must apply for licensure within one year of passing your salesperson licensing exam. You need to submit Form 3166, and there is a credentialing fee of $75. You can find more information on the Wisconsin DSPS website.