If you're considering starting a real estate career in Las Vegas, Henderson, Reno, Carson City, or any other city in Nevada, you'll need to earn a Nevada real estate license. To earn your real estate license in Nevada, you must be at least 18 years of age, complete 90 hours of required education, submit to fingerprinting and a background check, take the Nevada salesperson licensing exam, and apply for licensure. While the process to become a real estate agent is similar in most states, each state has unique steps that must be adhered to. The five steps to becoming a Nevada real estate agent are as follows:
Step 1: Be at Least 18 Years of Age
In addition to being at least 18 years of age, you must also be a US citizen or permanent resident alien and show proof of high school graduation or equivalent.
Step 2: Register for the 90 Hours of Required Education
You must complete 90 hours of Nevada Real Estate Division-approved education courses. Provide certificates of completions for the following:
- 45 hours or 3 college credits of Real Estate Principles
- 45 hours or 3 college credits Real Estate Law (must include 18 hours Nevada law)
- Pre-licensing education from another may be accepted.
More information can be found on their website. Choose the Salesperson Licensing Package that is best for you. View licensing education.
Step 3: Complete a Fingerprinting and Background Check
You must complete a background check and submit your fingerprints to the Department of Public Safety. For more detailed information, visit the Nevada Real Estate Division website.
Step 4: Take the Nevada Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Exam
Next, you will register to take the Nevada Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Exam. In order to register for this exam, you can visit the exam provider’s website, Pearson Vue, As a Kaplan student, you can be confident that you are thoroughly prepared for taking the exam.
Step 5: Apply for Your Nevada Real Estate Salesperson License
The application and checklist to apply for the Nevada Real Estate Salesperson License can be found at the State of Nevada RED website, You must show proof of passing the real estate exam within one year of the application date.