Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education

Requirements to Get a North Carolina Real Estate License

Posted by: Kaplan Real Estate Education
Updated: November 2020

If you want to begin a North Carolina real estate career, there are a number of specific requirements you need to meet to earn and use your broker’s license. Earning a license in North Carolina will grant you the licensure you need to legally act as a real estate broker in North Carolina only. As a result, the North Carolina Real Estate Commission (NCREC) specifically dictates the requirements you must meet to earn and keep your broker’s license.

Age Requirements

First of all, the state of North Carolina requires that you be at least 18 years of age to earn your broker’s license and become a real estate agent. Young real estate professionals often find it difficult to find leads and build a career in real estate, especially when many of their competitors have been practicing for decades. But young real estate professionals bring ambition and enthusiasm to the job that could give them an advantage in jumpstarting a successful real estate career.

Formal Education Requirements

In North Carolina, you do not need to have a high school diploma in order to get your real estate license. As a result, there are also no post-secondary formal education requirements either.

North Carolina Real Estate License Education Requirements

Prelicensing Requirements

You must complete a 75-hour broker prelicensing course in order to qualify to take the North Carolina state real estate broker licensing exam. 

As part of your curriculum, you will be required to complete a post-course exam in order to pass the course and qualify to sit for the state exam.

Kaplan Real Estate Education is an approved North Carolina real estate school and is legally approved for offering prelicensing education. A list of all approved schools can be found on the NCREC website.

Examination Requirements

In order to earn your license, you will be required to complete and pass a state-administered real estate licensing examination with a score of 75% or better. This exam includes both a national portion and a state-specific portion. The exam is designed to test your command of real estate practices, policy, and vocabulary. It ensures that all real estate agents begin their careers on a level platform of basic industry knowledge. To prepare for the exam, many students will participate in an exam prep course or purchase a study tool designed to help them practice for the exam. Exam prep courses are not required by the state in order to sit for the exam. They are designed to help you assess your current command of critical concepts and brush up on your areas of weakness.

Additional Real Estate Education Requirements

Post-Licensure Postlicensing Requirements

Once you’ve completed all requirements and passed the state exam, you will receive a North Carolina Provisional Broker’s License. In order to remove the provisional status of your license, you need to complete the state’s postlicensing education requirement. There are three courses that make up the 90-hour postlicensing requirement. The courses are called Broker Relationships & Responsibilities, Contracts & Closings, and Selected Topics. You must complete all three prescribed 30 hours of postlicensing education within the first 18-months of licensure.

Continuing Education Requirements

As a licensed North Carolina real estate broker, you are required to complete eight hours of state-approved continuing education every year. Four hours of the CE must consist of the state-mandated General Update Course (GENUP). This course must be completed in a live classroom. The remaining four hours can be fulfilled by completing four hours of state-approved elective continuing education. This education does not have to be taken in a live classroom. You can satisfy your elective requirement by completing a state-approved online continuing education course.

The real estate license renewal deadline in North Carolina is June 10 every year. You are not required to complete the 8-hour CE requirement in your first year of licensure.

Broker Affiliation

Once you have earned your real estate license, you must choose a Broker-In-Charge (BIC) to practice under. You are not legally allowed to practice real estate without working under an established BIC. BICs provide a number of support services you will need as a practicing real estate broker, as well as the stability and recognition of a well-known brand.