Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education

Nevada State Requirements

Nevada State Requirements

Salesperson Licensing

An applicant for a Nevada Real Estate Salesperson license must:

  • Be at least 18 years old.
  • Provide proof of pre-licensing education by transcripts, certificates, or licensing history:

    a) 45 hours or 3 college credits Real Estate Principles.

    b) 45 hours or 3 college credits Real Estate Law (must include 18 hours Nevada law).

    c) Pre-licensing education from another state may be accepted.

 

Application must be notarized and completed by applicant (form #549).

Two fingerprint cards processed by a government or law enforcement agency, within the last year.

Original exam results:

    a) Pass Nevada State exam within last 12 months.

    b) Pass national exam (from any state) within last 12 months.

If you are currently licensed as a salesperson or broker in another state, some of these requirements may be amended. Please contact the Nevada Real Estate Division for details.

Broker and Broker/Salesperson Licensing

 An applicant for a Nevada Broker’s license must:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Complete the required education

Applicants for a Broker's license (not a Broker/Salesperson license) must have been actively engaged as a full-time licensed real estate  broker or salesman for at least two (2) of the four (4) years immediately prior to the issuance of a Nevada Broker license.

Applicants may apply for a Broker/Salesperson license without meeting the experience requirement.

An applicant for a Nevada Broker/Salesperson License must complete the following 64 semester units:

Course Topic

Requirements Effective January 1, 2001

Real Estate Law

(including 18-hours of Nevada real estate law, not waived by experience)

3 semester units or 45 hours

Real Estate Principles

3 semester units or 45 hours

Real Estate Appraisal

3 semester units or 45 hours

Real Estate, Business, or Economics

15 semester units

Broker Management Training

(not waived by experience)

3 semester units or 45 hours

Non specified units—can be in general studies from an accredited university or college.

(Non-credit courses are not applicable)

37 semester units

UNIT TOTAL:

64

Experience may be used in place of some education. Contact the Real Estate Division.

Salesperson First Renewal

First-time licensees issued an initial license as defined in NAC 645.4442 must take the mandatory modules for 30 hours of continued education within the first 12 months after initial licensing.  Proof of completion must be submitted to the Division.  The 30 hours of continued education consisting of:  3 hours of Agency, 3 hours of Contracts, 3 hours of Ethics, 3 hours of Law and Legislation, 3 hours of Broker Management, and 18 hours of General courses.  At least 15 of the required 30 hours must all be taken through live instruction. 

Salesperson Continuing Education

For License renewals after 7.1.2015, subsequent renewals are valid for 2 years.  24 hours of continuing education is required, which proof of completion must be submitted to the Division.  The educational requirement is:  3 hours of Agency, 3 hours of Contracts, 3 hours of Ethics, 3 hours of  Law and Legislation, and 12 hours of General courses.  At least 12 of the required 24 hours must be taken through live instruction.

Broker and Broker/Salesperson Continuing Education

For License renewals after 7.1.2015, subsequent renewals are valid for 2 years.  24 hours of continuing education is required, which proof of completion must provide the Division.  The educational requirement is:  3 hours of Agency, 3 hours in Contracts, 3 hours Ethics, 3 hours of Law and Legislation, 3 hours Broker management, and 9 hours of General courses.  At least 12 lof the required 24 hours must be taken through live instruction.