Our site will be unavailable on Friday, July 21 from 11:00pm -2:00am CT on Saturday, July 22 for maintenance. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education

Minnesota Real Estate State Requirements

Minnesota Real Estate State Requirements

Salesperson Licensing

Requirements to Obtain a Salesperson License:

  1. Be at least 18 years old
  2. Complete ninety (90) hours of prelicense real estate education, including three 30-hour approved courses (Course I, II, III). 
  3. Pass the salesperson’s licensing examination.
  4. Course I must be completed prior to taking the real estate salesperson’s examination.
  5. Courses II and III may be completed either before or after the examination, but must be completed prior to applying for your license.
  6. Apply for licensure within one year of passing the examination (neither portion  of the examination can be more than one year old at the time of application);
  7. By affiliation, work with a licensed Minnesota real estate broker; and
  8. Pay the appropriate licensing fee.

Broker Licensing

Requirements to Obtain a Broker License:

Broker applicants  must have satisfied the salesperson education and examination requirements. Plus, they must complete the following requirements  before  they take the broker examination:

  1. Have a minimum of three (3) years of actual licensed experience as a licensed real estate salesperson within the last five (5) years in Minnesota or in another state that has comparable requirements (must have already been granted a waiver if experience is not obtained in Minnesota);
  2. Complete the thirty (30) hour broker course and pass both portions of the real estate broker’s examination within one year prior to the application, (neither portion of the examination can be more than one year old at the time of application.  If you maintain an active salesperson license, your examination results are sustained indefinitely).
  3. Apply for licensure; and
  4. Pay the appropriate licensing fee.

Salesperson Continuing Education

Educational Requirements to renew a Salesperson's License:

The Primary Broker must certify through the on-line renewal process that the licensee has completed thirty (30) hours of continuing education within the 2 years prior to each renewal, including at least 1 hour of fair housing law, 1 hour of agency law, and the state's annually required continuing education 'general' module.

Broker Continuing Education

Educational Requirements to renew as a Broker:

The Primary Broker must certify through the on-line renewal process that the licensee has completed thirty (30) hours of continuing education within the 2 years prior to each renewal, including at least 1 hour of fair housing law, 1 hour of agency law, the state's annually required continuing education 'general' and 'broker' modules.