Coronavirus (COVID-19) Update: Kaplan’s top priorities are the health and safety of employees, students, customers, and the community. If you have individual concerns, please visit our FAQ page ».

Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education

Arizona Real Estate Licensing and CE Requirements

Arizona Real Estate Commission

100 North 15th Avenue, Suite 201
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: 602.771.7700
Website: www.azre.gov 
Message Center: www.azre.gov/contacts/emailadre.aspx

Arizona Real Estate Salesperson License Requirements

A. Be at least 18 years old
B. Submit a Fingerprint Clearance Card issued by the Arizona Department of Public Safety. The process for obtaining a Fingerprint Clearance Card may take as long as 8–10 weeks
C. Complete a background check and the Disciplinary Actions Disclosure Form. Applicant must provide all information listed on the forms and in the Candidate Handbook

a. The Department may not issue a license to a person who has been convicted of a felony or convicted of a misdemeanor offense such as, but not limited to: theft, forgery, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, violence against another person, or crimes of moral turpitude

D. Complete 90 hours of education
E. Before completing the license application, attend a six-hour Contract Writing Class—applicant must provide a certificate of completion
F. Pass the state and national exam
G. Apply for licensure within one year of passing the exam
H. See all additional requirements here: www.azre.gov/Lic/QualifyObtainLicFaqs.aspx#REQ1
I. Pay applicable fee found here: www.azre.gov/PublicInfo/Documents/Fee_Schedule.pdf

The Department (ADRE) is directing individual licensees that are due to expire at the end of the month to search the ADRE Public Database for available online Continuing Education (CE) Courses. The Department is not waiving continuing education hours for license renewals, nor extending expiration dates. Nearly 99 percent of license renewals are submitted online.

Arizona Real Estate Broker License Requirements

A. Be at least 18 years old
B. Have been a licensed salesperson for three years within the last five preceding application for Broker’s license
C. Submit a Fingerprint Clearance Card. This process may take 8–10 weeks
D. Complete a background check, and submit the Disciplinary Actions Disclosure form
E. Complete 90 hours of Real Estate Broker Prelicensing Education, and complete a Broker Management Clinic
F. Submit Broker Candidate Experience Verification form found here: www.azre.gov/Lic/Forms/Form_LI-226_Broker_Candidate_Experience.pdf

a. The employing broker must sign and initial where indicated, verifying experience in practicing real estate, returning the form to the applicant for presentation to Pearson Vue at the time of testing
b. Experience in a state other than Arizona requires a certified license history from the state in which the salesperson’s or broker’s license was held during the past five years
c. The “valid through” date of the form will be based on three years of actual experience within the past five years immediately preceding license application
d. See all details here: www.azre.gov/Lic/QualifyObtainLicFaqs.aspx#REQ2

G. Pass the state and national portion of the broker’s exam
H. Pay applicable fee

The Department (ADRE) is directing individual licensees that are due to expire at the end of the month to search the ADRE Public Database for available online Continuing Education (CE) Courses. The Department is not waiving continuing education hours for license renewals, nor extending expiration dates. Nearly 99 percent of license renewals are submitted online.

Arizona Real Estate Salesperson Continuing Education Requirements

A. Renewal periods are every two years
B. Licensee must have all certificates of the required courses and categories
C. Must complete 24 credit hours within that time frame and upload the credits to the Arizona Real Estate Commission’s website here: ptl.az.gov/app/dre

a. To report education, select the option to record continuing education credits. Enter the ADRE course numbers and dates of the CE classes taken during the CE period

D. Of the 24 credit hours required for renewal, the following hours must be obtained:

a. Agency Law—three hours
b. Contract Law—three hours
c. Commissioner's Standards—three hours
d. Disclosure—three hours
e. Fair Housing—three hours

i. If claiming a Fair Housing course substitute, attach a statement of substitution and a certificate for substitute class. An additional class in the Real Estate Legal Issues category that has been approved for a minimum of three credit hours can be taken in place of the mandatory Fair Housing category but must be preapproved by the Department

f. Real Estate Legal Issues—three hours
g. Plus additional elective categories—six hours

i. Such as other courses in any of the above mandatory categories that are not identical to courses that will be used to fulfill the Mandatory Categories or courses in the General Real Estate category or any combination.

Arizona Real Estate Broker Continuing Education Requirements

A. Renewal periods are every two years 
B. Licensees must have all certificates of the required courses and categories
C. Must complete 30 hours within the renewal time frame and upload the information to the website here: ptl.az.gov/app/dre

a. To report education, selection the option to record continuing education credits. Enter the ADRE course numbers and dates of the CE classes taken during the CE period

D. Of the 30 hours required for renewal, the following topics must be obtained:

a. Agency Law—three hours
b. Contract Law—three hours
c. Broker Management Clinic 1—three hours

i. Broker Management Clinic courses are required for active status designated brokers, which includes self-employed brokers, or delegated associate brokers with written authorization to act on behalf of the designated broker by reviewing and initializing contracts and similar instruments pursuant to A.R.S. 32-2151.01(g)

d. Broker Management Clinic 2—3 hours

i. See above statement under regarding clinic courses

e. Broker Management Clinic 3—3 hours

i. See above statement regarding clinic courses

f. Disclosure—three hours
g. Fair Housing—three hours

i. If claiming a Fair Housing course substitute, attach a statement of substitution and certificate for substitute class. An additional class in the Real Estate Legal Issues category that has been approved for a minimum of three credit hours can be taken in place of the mandatory Fair Housing category but must be preapproved by the Department

h. Real Estate Legal Issues—three hours
i. Plus additional elective categories—six hours

i. Such as other courses in any of the above Mandatory Courses that are not identical to courses that will be used to fulfill the Mandatory Categories or courses in the General Real Estate category or any combination

Arizona Real Estate Exam Provider Information

A. Exam Provider: Pearson Vue
B. Phone Number: 888.405.5776
C. If you cannot reach someone by phone, please visit the website and chat with a customer service representative: home.pearsonvue.com/az/realestate/contact
D. Be aware: Effective September 23, 2019, Arizona will no longer score the national and state portions of the real estate broker examination separately. If you fail only one part of an exam, you may retake only the part you failed, provided you test on or before September 22, 2019; thereafter, you will be required to retake the entire exam
E. Please visit the website and read the candidate information to be fully prepared for exam day home.pearsonvue.com/az/realestate