Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education

Alabama State Requirements

Alabama Salesperson Licensing

Your courses are offered by Brightwood College | Hammond.

Requirements to Obtain a Salesperson License:

1.     Be a U.S. citizen or lawful permanent resident

2.     Be at least 19 years old

3.     Show proof of bona fide residency in any state in the U.S.

4.     Show proof of high school graduation or GED

5.     Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude

6.     Not have had a real estate application or license rejected or revoked in any state within the past two years.

7.     After meeting the 60 hour prelicense education and/or experience requirements, pass the licensing examination within 12 months of course completion, if requirements completed prior to October 1, 2016.  All individuals who complete the prelicense course on or after October 1, 2016, must pass the licensing examination within 6 months of course completion.

Broker Licensing
Requirements to Obtain a Broker's License:

1.     Be a U.S. citizen or lawful permanent resident

2.     Be at least 19 years old

3.     Show proof of bona fide residency in any state in the U.S.

4.     Show proof of high school graduation or GED

5.     Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude

6.     Not have had a real estate application or license rejected or revoked in any state within the past two years.

7.     After meeting the 60 hour prelicense education and/or experience requirements, pass the licensing examination.

8.     Must have held an active real estate salesperson license in any state for at least 24 months of the 36 months immediately preceding the date of application.

9.     Have successfully passed both the Alabama and National portions of the AMP Broker Real Estate Exam.

10.  Have completed, signed and submitted the Broker licensing application provided by the Alabama Real Estate Commission along with the required fee.

Salesperson Post-licensing

Educational Requirements to renew a Salesperson License for the 1st Time:
Completion of the 30 hour post license course for salespersons within the first six months of licensure for active licensees and within one year for inactive licensees.

Note: There is no post license requirement for brokers.

Salesperson Continuing Education
Educational Requirements to renew a Salesperson’s License:

Every two years a total of fifteen (15) clock hours of continuing education prescribed by the Commission is required for renewal of an active license. These hours must be completed by September 30 of every even year. The fifteen hour continuing education course requirement is as follows:

(a) Three (3) clock hours in Risk Management – Level 1. In this level, brokers and salespersons shall take the Risk Management: Avoiding Violations course.

(b) Three (3) clock hours in Risk Management – Level 2.  In this level, all brokers shall take the Risk Management for Brokers course.  Salespersons shall take the Risk Management for Salespersons course, the Risk Management for Brokers course, or an industry-specific Risk Management course approved for Level 2 credit by the Commission.

(c) Nine (9) clock hours in Commission-approved courses

Broker Continuing Education
Educational Requirements to renew a Broker's License:

Every two years a total of fifteen (15) clock hours of continuing education prescribed by the Commission is required for renewal of an active license. These hours must be completed by September 30 of every even year. The fifteen hour continuing education course requirement is as follows:

(a) Three (3) clock hours in Risk Management – Level 1. In this level, brokers and salespersons shall take the Risk Management: Avoiding Violations course.

(b) Three (3) clock hours in Risk Management – Level 2.  In this level, all brokers shall take the Risk Management for Brokers course.  Salespersons shall take the Risk Management for Salespersons course, the Risk Management for Brokers course, or an industry-specific Risk Management course approved for Level 2 credit by the Commission.

(c) Nine (9) clock hours in Commission-approved courses