Our offices will be closed Thursday, November 23, and Friday, November 24, in observance of the Thanksgiving holiday. Limited Technical Support will be available via email at ​retechsupport@kaplan.com during business hours. We look forward to serving you when we return Monday, November 27.

Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education

How to Become a Certified Residential Appraiser

How to Become a Certified Residential Appraiser

How to Become a Certified Residential Appraiser

Posted by: Brightwood College
Updated: August 9, 2017 | Published: May 12, 2015

Do you want to upgrade your appraisal license to become a Certified Residential Appraiser? A Certified Residential Appraiser is qualified to appraise one-to-four residential units without regard to value or complexity. Once you complete the criteria below, you can apply for a Certified Residential Appraiser license. Note that some states may have additional requirements. You can learn more about your state’s requirements by visiting their respective regulatory website. To find your state, visit the Appraisal Subcommittee website.

Not yet a licensed appraiser? See our How to Become a Licensed Appraiser article to learn how. 


Complete a total of 200 hours of education. The 200 hours includes the courses required for trainee and licensed level appraisers, plus at least three additional courses:

Statistics, Modeling and Finance                                     15 hours
Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies    15 hours
Appraisal subject matter electives course                        20 hours


You are required to complete a total of 2,500 hours of experience in no less than 24 months. The total number of hours can include the initial 2,000 hours obtained for the Licensed Appraiser level, plus 500 additional hours. Most states require these additional hours to be on complex appraisal assignments. These hours must be directly supervised by an acceptable supervisory appraiser. Appraisers are required to maintain a log jointly with the supervisory appraiser.


The AQB-approved Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser examination must be successfully completed. All education, degree, and experience hours must be completed prior to taking the national exam. All end-of-course exams must be passed.


All applicants must hold a bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university.


Once all of the requirements are completed and documented, you can submit an application to the appropriate state board. To find your state licensing board, visit the Appraisal Subcommittee website.