Our offices will be closed Friday, July 3th, in observance of Independence Day. Technical Support will be available via email at REtechsupport@kaplan.com during business hours. We look forward to serving you when we return Monday, July 6th.

Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education

New Mexico State Real Estate Licensing and CE Requirements

New Mexico Real Estate Commission

Real Estate Commission
5500 San Antonio Dr. NE Suite B
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87109
Phone: 505-222-9820
Website: www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/real_estate_commission.aspx

Real Estate Associate Broker Prelicensing Education Requirements

A. Must be 18 years old
B. Be a legal resident of the U.S.; state residency is not required
C. Successfully have completed 90 hours of education to include:

a. 30 hours—Real Estate Principles and Practices
b. 30 hours—Real Estate Law
c. 30 hours—Broker Basics

i. *All 90 hours must be completed before taking the exam

D. If licensed as a salesperson or broker in another state, applicants will be exempt from completing the 30-hour Real Estate Principles and Practices and the national portion of the exam if they can provide a certified license history from their resident licensing jurisdiction
E. Pass the state and national exam within 90 days from the first attempt at the exam
F. Applicants have six months to apply for licensure upon passing both portions of the New Mexico broker’s exam otherwise will have to retake the exam
G. Complete background check and fingerprints
H. To view additional information, visit www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/real_estate_commission.aspx

Qualifying Broker Prelicensing Education Requirements

A. Supervisory qualifying broker candidates must have at least four years of active experience as a licensed associate broker during the 60-month period immediately preceding the filing of the application
B. Non-supervisory qualifying broker candidates must have at least two years of active experience as a licensed associate broker during the 60-month period immediately preceding the filing of the application

a. Those qualifying under this ruling must document at least four years of active experience as an associate broker and qualifying broker before being eligible to supervise other brokers

C. Complete the 30-hour Brokerage Office Administration course
D. Complete the eight-hour Understanding and Using RANM forms course
E. Complete eight hours of core CE electives
F. Attend one New Mexico Real Estate Commission meeting, rule hearing, or disciplinary hearing for at least three hours. Attendance may be by live meeting/hearing or by live or recorded distance broadcast
G. Complete background check and fingerprints
H. For more requirements, please review rulings here: www.rld.state.nm.us/uploads/files/Compendium%20Integrated%20Files%20as%20Submitted.pdf

Associate Broker Post Licensing Education Requirements

A. Pursuant with ruling 16.61.17.9 each associate broker will complete the Commission-approved New Broker Business Practices course or the CCIM 101 Course within the first year of their licensure
B. The Commission approved 30 hour course will count for up to 10 credit hours of Continuing Education

Associate Broker Continuing Education Requirements

A. Renewals are every three years on or before the last day of licensee’s birth month
B. Per 16.61.13.8, all active and inactive associate brokers will be required to complete a minimum of 36 hours of education to include:

a. Four-hour NMREC core course to be completed annually (will need 12 hours of this course per renewal cycle)
b. Four hours Ethics course to be completed once during the renewal period
c. Of the remaining 16 hours, no more than 10 hours may be earned toward the education requirements with training category courses. All 16 hours may be earned with education category courses
d. In addition to the above, those associate brokers involved in property management for others must also complete the below listed requirements:

i. Complete the commission approved course, Uniform Owner/Resident Relations Act, or commission approved equivalent property management related course, prior to offering property management services, and every subsequent 3-year licensing cycle
ii. Shall complete a minimum of 6- hours of approved continuing education courses in property management during each 3-year licensing cycle
iii. Associate brokers who offer or are intending to offer property management services  shall also be subject to the same meeting attendance requirements as qualifying brokers

e. The NMREC course will have a unique course name and course number each year, including the year in which it is presented

C. To review additional requirements and information, review the statute listed here: 16.61.13.8

Qualifying Continuing Education Requirements

A. Renewals are every three years on or before the last day of licensee’s birth month
B. Per 16.61.13.8, all active and inactive qualifying brokers will be required to complete a minimum of 36 hours of education to include:

a. A 4-hour NMREC course to be completed annually (will need 12 hours of this course per renewal cycle)
b. 4-hour Ethics course to be completed once during the renewal period
c. Of the remaining 16 hours, no more than 10 hours may be earned toward the education requirements with training category courses. All 16 may be earned with education category courses
d. 8 hour Core Elective- to be completed during each 3 year renewal cycle
e. Qualifying Broker Refresher course completed once during the renewal cycle
f. Attend one Commission meeting, rule hearing, or disciplinary hearing for at least 3 hours, or until the commission goes into executive session, whichever comes first
g. In addition to the above, those qualifying brokers involved in property management for others must also complete the below requirements:

i. Complete the commission approved course: Uniform Owner/Resident Relations Act or commission approved equivalent, property management related course, prior to offering property management services
ii. Complete a minimum of 12-hours of approved continuing education courses in property management during each 3-year licensing cycle

h. Once every renewal cycle, complete 12 hours of education in Property Management

Real Estate Exam Provider Information in New Mexico

A. With any scheduling, payment, or additional state exam questions, please visit:

a. Website: https://candidate.psiexams.com/catalog/fti_agency_license_details.jsp?fromwhere=findtest&testid=998
b. Phone: 800-733-9267
c. Email: examschedule@psionline.com

B. Read Candidate Bulletin Information to be fully prepared for exam day