To better serve you and improve the stability of our systems, our site will be unavailable for 8 hours starting on Friday, October 25th, 2019 from 10:00 PM CDT and ending at 6:00 AM CDT on Saturday, October 26th for maintenance. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education

Colorado Real Estate State Requirements

Associate Broker Licensing

Requirements to Obtain a Broker License:

  1. Be at least 18 years old
  2. Complete 168 credit hours of education (Required courses below)
    1. Colorado Contract and Regulations-48 credit hours
    2. Colorado Current legal Issues-8 credit hours
    3. Colorado Law & Practice- 48 credit hours
    4. Colorado Practical Applications-32 credit hours
    5. Colorado Real Estate Closings- 24 credit hours
    6. Colorado Trust Account and Record Keeping- 8 credit hours
  3. Pass both the National and state portions of the PSI Colorado Broker Licensing Exam
  4. Within one year of passing the Colorado Broker Licensing Exam, submit a Broker’s License Application and all supporting documentation, including a fingerprint form. An Employing Broker must sign the application, and proof of Errors and Omissions Insurance must be provided and fees paid in full.

Employing Broker Licensing 

Requirements to Obtain an Employing Broker License:

  1. Be at least 18 years old
  2. Complete 24 credit hours of Brokerage Administration 1 Course
  3. Must have two years of active experience as an Associate Broker
  4. Must have passed the state portion of the exam when obtaining Associate Broker license
  5. After completion of education, apply for a change of level of licensure with the state
    1. ***Real Estate Broker Authority (REC-LA-O7-04)
    2. ***Upgrading license will not change expiration date
  6. Do you need the Employing Broker Refresher Course?
     

Associate and Employing Broker Continuing Education

  1. All active Real Estate Brokers need to complete 24 credit hours of education during a three year license period. (To view the new expiration transition process, please visit this website for more information https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/broker-license-expiration-date-transition-0  )
  2. 12 hours must be three different versions of the four hour Annual Commission Update Course
  3. 12 hours may be electives or other topic areas
  4. If any Annual Commission Update is missed during a license period, students may complete one of the following options:
    1. Take and pass the state portion of the licensing exam
    2. Take the 24 credit hour Broker Reactivation Course
    3. Complete 48 hours of Colorado Contracts and Regulations & the 24 credit hour Broker Administration course to total 72 hours.
  5. If a licensee has been inactive for longer than 3 years, the licensee MUST contact the state to be advised of the process to reinstate license.

 

Fingerprinting & Exam Provider Information

  1. The Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) must receive your fingerprints and run a routine background check before the state grants the license to sell real estate. For information on fingerprinting and scheduling an appointment please see this document: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1G4PlmXkoIY3Sxtr3uHnEYWdGE_Lluz1K3wHOWyTdrdU/edit  
  2. To schedule the Associate Broker Licensing Exam, see the Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin, Exam Registration Information or for any exam questions, please visit www.psiexams.com
    1. Exam testing locations are:
      1. Centennial
      2. Colorado Springs
      3. Durango
      4. Fort Collins
      5. Grand Junction
      6. Pueblo
      7. Wheat Ridge
    2. Two forms of identification are required to sit for the licensing exam. One must be a valid form of government-issued identification
      1. Driver’s license
      2. State ID
      3. Passport
      4. The second must have your signature and preprinted legal name
  3. Exam Time frames:
    1. National:
      1. 80 questions
      2. Passing score is 60 correct questions
      3. Time Allowed: 120 Minutes (2 hours)
    2. State:
      1. 74 questions
      2. Passing score is 53 correct questions
      3. Time Allowed: 110 Minutes (1 hr and 50 minutes)
  4. Helpful Tips for Exam Day:
    1. Arrive at least 30 minutes before your appointment.
    2. All candidates MUST bring a copy of all six course completion certificates (also known as the REC-33)
    3. The following items will NOT be permitted in the exam room:
      1. Cell phones
      2. Purses
      3. Wallets
      4. Backpacks
      5. Briefcases
      6. Suitcases
      7. Food
      8. Drink
      9. Study materials
      10. Tablets
      11. Portable computers
      12. Radios
      13. Calculators
      14. Cameras
      15. Recording devices
      16. Electronic and smart watches
      17. Lapel pins
      18. Tie backs
      19. Bulky or loose clothing or coats
      20. Hats or headgear not worn for religious reasons
  5. Scores of the exam will be presented immediately following completion of the exam. Exam results will be reported to students and DORA.