Requirements to Obtain a Salesperson License:
1. Be at least 18 years old
2. Complete 72 hours of prelicense real estate education or complete 10 semester hour credits in real estate or real estate related law courses from an accredited institution of higher education.
3. Pass the salesperson’s licensing examination.
4. Submit an application to the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services. Submission must include Form 3166, $75.00 credentialing fee, and proof of education completion and passing the salesperson exam.
Learn more about our Wisconsin real estate licensing packages and start studying now!
Requirements to Obtain a Broker License:
1. Education completion requirement (must meet one (1) of the following):
a. Completion, within 4-years of Broker’s licensure, of real estate Broker’s education program in business management under Wis. Admin. Code § REEB 25.023 through an education program that has been approved by the Board and evidence of licensure as a Real Estate Salesperson for at least two (2) years within the last four (4) preceding years under the direct supervision of a licensed Broker and have accumulated 40 points of experience. OR
b. Completion of non-resident Broker equivalency under Wis. Admin. Code § REEB 25.028. OR
c. Copy of transcript showing 20 academic semester hour credits completed at an institution of higher learning in real estate or real estate related law. A quarter hour credit equals 2/3 of a semester hour credit. OR
d. Evidence that you are licensed to practice law in Wisconsin.
2. Pass the broker licensing examination.
3. Submit an application to the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services. Submission must include Form 809, $75.00 credentialing fee, and proof of education completion, passing the salesperson exam and broker experience.
Educational Requirements to renew a Broker’s or Salesperson's License:
Licensed real estate brokers and salespersons must satisfy continuing education requirements during each licensing period, December 15 of even-numbered years to December 14 of even-numbered years.
All licensees must complete 18 hours of continuing education in each biennium through six approved 3-hour courses. Courses 1, 2, 3 and 4 and two elective courses are required.
Only providers and instructors approved by the Department may offer approved continuing education courses. The Department does not approve other real estate courses which are available to licensees in Wisconsin or elsewhere. The Department only approves the precise courses that it has designated at the beginning of each licensing period.