Our site will be unavailable for 4.5 hours starting on Friday, October 19th, 2018 from 11:00pm and ending at 3:30am CST on Saturday, October 20th, 2018 for maintenance. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education

New Mexico Appraisal State Requirements

Your courses are offered by Brightwood College | San Antonio (Ingram)

Required Education

Level 1 - Registered License

You must complete 75 hours of approved appraisal education, including the 15-hour National USPAP Course.

Level 2 – Licensed Appraiser You must complete 90 hours of approved appraisal education, including the 15-hour National USPAP Course.  Additionally, you must have an associate degree or higher from an accredited college or university. In lieu of the required degree, the applicant may present satisfactory documentation of successful completion of 30 semester credit hours of instruction from an accredited college or university.  

Level 3 – Certified Residential License

You must complete 120 hours of approved appraisal education, including the 15-hour National USPAP Course.  Additionally, you must have a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or university. 

Level 4 – Certified General License

You must complete 180 hours of approved appraisal education, including the 15-hour National USPAP Course.  Additionally, you must have a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or university.

Continuing Education

Every licensed New Mexico Appraiser, you must complete 28 hours of state-approved continuing education each biannual renewal period. Of these 28 required hours, each licensee must complete the 7-Hour National USPAP Update course and the Jurisprudence Examination.

About the Exam

Level 1 - Registered License

You must pass a take-home examination on NM statutes, rules and regulations. The exam will be mailed to you once your application has been reviewed and approved.

Level 2 - Licensed Appraiser

You must successfully pass a written examination administered under the supervision of the Board. This exam includes a four-hour national exam and a take home state exam on New Mexico statutes, rules and regulations. The take home exam will be mailed to you when you notify the board office that you have passed the national exam by mailing or faxing a copy of your examination results to the board office, unless you have already taken it to become Registered. Applicants pay examination fees directly to the exam provider.

Level 3 - Certified Residential License

You must successfully pass a written examination administered under the supervision of the Board. This exam includes a four-hour national exam and a take home state exam on New Mexico statutes, rules and regulations. The take home exam will be mailed to you when you notify the board office that you have passed the national exam by mailing or faxing a copy of your examination results to the board office, unless you have already taken it to become Registered or Licensed. Applicants pay examination fees directly to the exam provider.

Level 4 - Certified General License

You must successfully pass a written examination administered under the supervision of the Board. This exam includes a four-hour national exam and a take home state exam on New Mexico statutes, rules and regulations. The take home exam will be mailed to you when you notify the board office that you have passed the national exam by mailing or faxing a copy of your examination results to the board office, unless you have already taken it to become Registered, Licensed or Certified.

Applicants pay examination fees directly to the exam provider.

 

Required Experience

Level 1 - Registered License

Prior to your approval as a Registered Appraiser, you are not required to have any appraisal experience. As a Registered Appraiser, you must work under the direct supervision of a supervising appraiser who shall be state certified appraiser in good standing.

The supervising appraiser shall be responsible for your training and direct supervision by:

  • accepting responsibility for the appraisal report by signing and certifying the report is in compliance with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP).
  • reviewing your appraisal reports
  • personally inspecting each appraisal property with you until the supervisor determines that you are competent in accordance with the COMPETENCY RULE of USPAP for the property type.

As a Registered Appraiser, you must also maintain your Appraiser Experience Log. The log must contain the following information for each appraisal:

    • Type of property
    • Client name and address
    • Address of appraisal property
    • Description of work performed
    • Number of work hours
    • Signature of your supervising appraiser

Level 2 - Licensed Appraiser

To apply for a License, you must have a minimum of 2,000 hours and 12 months of real estate appraisal experience. Acceptable appraisal experience includes, but is not limited to, the following:

  • Fee and staff appraisal
  • Ad valorem tax appraisal
  • Condemnation appraisal
  • Technical review appraisal
  • Appraisal Analysis
  • Real estate consulting
  • Highest and best use analysis
  • Feasibility analysis/study

As a Licensed appraiser, you may appraise any non-complex 1-4 residential units having a transaction value less than $1,000,000 and complex 1-4 residential units having a transaction value less than $250,000.

Level 3 - Certified Residential License

To apply for a Certified Residential License, you must have a minimum of 2,500 hours and 12 months of real estate appraisal experience. Acceptable appraisal experience includes, but is not limited to, the following:

  • Fee and staff appraisal
  • Ad valorem tax appraisal
  • Condemnation appraisal
  • Technical review appraisal
  • Appraisal Analysis
  • Real estate consulting
  • Highest and best use analysis
  • Feasibility analysis/study

As a Certified Residential appraiser, you may appraise any 1-4 residential property without regard to transaction value or complexity.

Level 4 - Certified General License

To apply for a Certified General License, you must have a minimum of 3,000 hours and 30 months of real estate appraisal experience, of which 1,500 hours must be non-residential. Acceptable appraisal experience includes, but is not limited to, the following:

  • Fee and staff appraisal
  • Ad valorem tax appraisal
  • Condemnation appraisal
  • Technical review appraisal
  • Appraisal Analysis
  • Real estate consulting
  • Highest and best use analysis
  • Feasibility analysis/study

As a Certified General appraiser, you may appraise all real estate without regard to transaction value or complexity.

 

Application Procedures

Level 1 - Registered License

In order to become a Registered appraiser in New Mexico, you must meet the following requirements and you must also complete and submit the following:

  • Be a citizen of the United States
  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • A completed Licensing Application for Registered Appraisers
  • One recent personal photograph must accompany the application
  • All appropriate fees as required

Level 2 - Licensed Appraiser

In order to become a Licensed appraiser in New Mexico, you must meet the following requirements and you must also complete and submit the following:

  • Be a citizen of the United States
  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • A completed Licensing Application for Licensed Appraisers
  • One recent personal photograph must accompany the application

All appropriate fees as required

Level 3 - Certified Residential License

In order to become a Certified Residential appraiser in New Mexico, you must meet the following requirements and you must also complete and submit the following:

  • Be a citizen of the United States
  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • A completed Licensing Application for Certified Residential Appraisers
  • One recent personal photograph must accompany the application

All appropriate fees as required

Level 4 - Certified General License

In order to become a Certified General appraiser in New Mexico, you must meet the following requirements and you must also complete and submit the following:

  • Be a citizen of the United States
  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • A completed Licensing Application for Certified General Appraisers
  • One recent personal photograph must accompany the application

All appropriate fees as required