Trainee Real Property Appraiser
A new Minnesota real property appraiser is required to attend 75 hours of licensing education, pass the state-sponsored licensing exam, and apply with the Minnesota Department of Commerce for a Trainee Real Property Appraiser license.
New requirement effective January 1, 2015 for existing supervisors who wish to start supervising a new or different trainee. The supervisor and trainee will both be required to complete the Minnesota Supervisor/Trainee Appraiser course. For additional information on this requirement: https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=82B.13
All qualifying education must be completed within the five-year period prior to the date of submission of a trainee real property appraiser license application.
Licensed Real Property Appraiser
Applicant must successfully complete at least 150 hours of prelicense courses approved by the commissioner, including the 15-hour USPAP course. Additionally, the applicant must complete a background check and pass the national exam.
Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser
Applicant must successfully complete at least 200 hours of prelicense courses approved by the commissioner, with particular emphasis on the appraisal of one to four unit residential properties. Fifteen of the 200 hours must include successful completion of the 15-hour national USPAP course. Additionally, applicant must have a 2-year degree in select fields of study or 30 semester hours or CLEP exams in specific courses listed in the summary of changes located here or at appraisalfoundation.org. Lastly, the applicant must complete a background check and pass the national exam.
Certified General Real Property Appraiser
An applicant must successfully complete at least 300 hours of prelicense courses approved by the commissioner, with particular emphasis on the appraisal of nonresidential properties. Fifteen of the 300 hours must include successful completion of the 15-hour national USPAP course. Additionally, you must have a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or university, complete a background check, and pass the national exam.
Every Minnesota appraiser is required to complete 30 hours of approved continuing education every two years. As part of this requirement, appraisers must take the National USPAP Update Course every two years. The remaining hours may be fulfilled by taking any courses approved for Appraisal Continuing Education.
To view all testing locations, visit https://home.pearsonvue.com. Pre-registration and advance payment are required.
There are two ways to register:
Online registration: Go to https://home.pearsonvue.com and pay with your Visa or MasterCard.
Registration by phone using the Automated Registration System: 833.273.1946 (open 24 hours).